One of the best features of Pinegrow is working with multiple screen sizes at the same time.
To add a new view go to the Page menu and select Open another view:
This is what you get:
Use device size menu on the top of each page to select view sizes:
Although two views are usually enough, you can have as many views as you want:
Views and original page are linked: any changes you do to any of them will be propagated to all other views. If you make a change to the original page, all views will get updated with the same change. If you make a change to any of the view, the original page and all other views will get updated.
Note that only the content of the body tag is mirrored. If you make change to the head element it will not be mirrored between views.
If you save any of the views, the original page will be saved instead.
This means that you can edit all views as is most convenient, and all the changes you do are always saved with the original page.
For example, you can type something on the original page, add a class on a mobile view and reorder elements on tablet view. All changes are mirrored in real-time. Then you press Save while still on a tablet view and the original page with all the changes you did will get saved.
If you want to start saving a view as a separate file, you just do File -> Save as on that view. But note that if you press Save while on this view, the view will get saved and not the original page. To save the original page as well you have to use Save all or switch to the original page and press Save.
You can close any of the views at any time without consequences. But if you close the original page while views are active, its views will become orphans and will behave as normal unlinked documents.
Page -> Duplicate will just clone the page. The new page will become an independent page with no content links to the original page. Pages can still share the same stylesheets, but the content will not be updated between the two.
Duplicate & Mirror
Page -> Duplicate & Mirror is very similar to opening a view. The difference is that using Save on a mirrored page will not save the original page. Instead it will save the selected mirrored page. To save the original page you have to first select that page.
Manually mirroring two pages
Note that only the content of page body is mirrored. Changes made to the page head are not mirrored across pages. That includes stylesheets:
So, if you want that two pages also share stylesheets you have to go to Page -> Manage stylesheets and manually attach needed stylesheets (and probably detach the un-needed ones):
Last updated on October 26, 2015 at 7:24 pm